Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly is the state legislature for the U.S. state of Oregon. Oregon’s bicameral legislature consists of the House of Representatives, which has 60 members elected for two-year terms, and the Senate, whose 30 members are elected to serve for four-year terms. The present bicameral system was adopted in 1859 upon statehood. Today’s legislators meet annually in Salem and deal with complex matters and busy schedules.