Columbia River Gorge Commission

The Columbia River Gorge Commission was established by a compact between Oregon and Washington in 1987. The commission was created in response to federal legislation establishing the 300,000-acre Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area in 1986 to protect and provide for the enhancement of the scenic, natural, cultural and recreational resources of the Columbia River Gorge and to protect and support the area’s economy by encouraging growth.

The commission works in partnership with the U.S. Forest Service, six counties and four tribes to implement a regional management plan.